Today has been really trying for me.

I was recently in a state of anxiety. I have a film shoot to attend over the next few days. I need to finish writing a song by tomorrow night. My car is at the garage to be repaired, and the other family car is still hazardous, even after paying a hefty sum of money to get it fixed recently. I also need to go to the gym, and I haven’t been eating well this week. And with ADHD-perfectionist mind exacerbating all these issues, I had spent the last hour just pacing up and down, drowning in my woes.

Then some sweet inspiration hit me.

I walked over to my San Damiano Cross near the door to my room, and said the Our Father. I followed it with a Hail Mary. And just because she seems to be a saint totally in love with helping me, I prayed to St. Philomena for her intercession. I didn’t pray any of these prayers to help me untangle my problems, but instead I simply used them as a template for brief but sincere adoration.

God won’t necessarily intervene on your behalf to set things right. More often than not, honest prayer will simply realign you to what is truly important: loving your Lord with all your heart, soul, and strength.

I’m now feeling much, much better.

When in doubt, pray, pray, pray!

Pope Benedict XVI at the foot of St. Damian's Crucifix

Pope Benedict XVI kneels in front of the San Damiano Crucifix at the Basilica of St Clare in Assisi, Italy

